Master Private Detectives share with you in elaborate detail  step-by-step procedures in this complete private investigator training course and show you exactly . . . "How to Become a Private Investigator and How to Conduct Any Investigation!"
 
Home
Course Includes
Instructors
Q & A - Advice
Sample
Reviews
Endorsements
National Associations
State Associations
Licensing
Contact
Company
Order
Guarantee
Site Map

 
Learn from the Pros in the Investigative Industry.

Sign up for our FREE Training Webinar.

 
Security Management Magazine 
 
Security Management Magazine

Review
"This well-researched and thought-out  Private Investigator Training Course helps  Investigators move easily toward their goals. Beyond setting out the nuts and bolts of private investigation, the Course is loaded with insider tips, strategies, and resources." ~ Security Management Magazine    Read the complete Review

 
National Association of Investigative Specialists

Review
"'Secrets of Top Private Eyes,' is truly one of the top investigative training programs to be  developed to date." - Ralph Thomas, President, National Association of Investigative Specialists
Read the complete Review

 
Private Investigator

"I wish I had found your Private Investigator Training Course prior to all the leg work I had to do to get the ball rolling on a career as an investigator."

Sue Moore,
Private Investigator
Read More
 

Private Investigative Licensing

See State Licensing Requirements
Is it necessary to have a Private Investigator license?

You DO NOT Need a Private Investigator License to work in a Private Investigative firm under the owner's license. You can still earn $20-$40 per hour, while meeting your state's mandatory requirements. See all state private investigative license requirements.
 
You can conduct the same interesting assignments that a licensed Private Investigator does.
ALL under the direct supervision of a licensed Private Investigator.
  • Surveillances
  • Background Checks
  • Undercover Assignments
  • Insurance Fraud
  • Testifying in Court
Without a Private Investigator's license, YOU CAN work as an investigator in a private organization:
  • Insurance Investigator
  • Corporate Investigator
  • Legal Investigator in a law firm
  • Process Server serving legal papers
  • Accomplish Internet database research
  • Install hidden video cameras
  • Conduct surveillance
  • Find missing persons
You DO NEED a Private Investigator's License to:
  • Operate your own PI firm
  • Subcontract your services to other PIs

 

State Private Investigator's Licensing Requirements

See National Associations
See State Associations
State of Alabama Alabama
NO STATE REQUIREMENT

Currently there is no PI licensing requirement in Alabama, although some cities, such as Birmingham and Mobile, have their own requirements. A state business license is required to operate any business in Alabama.

Alabama Department of Revenue  |  State Law
Alaska
NO STATE REQUIREMENT

There is no PI licensing requirement in Alaska, although some cities, such as Fairbanks, have their own requirements. A state business license is required to operate any business in Alaska.

Fairbanks City Licensing  |  State Law
Arizona
Arizona investigators must be licensed. The Arizona Department of Public Safety regulates and licenses Investigators in Arizona.

Arizona Department of Public Safety  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law
2 Arkansas
Arkansas investigators must be licensed. The Arkansas Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies Act designates the Arkansas State Police as an administering agency to regulate private investigators, private security agencies and individuals or businesses offering security or investigative services.

Arkansas State Police - License Requirements  |  State Law
California
California investigators must be licensed. According to the State of California, The Department of Consumer Affairs Bureau of Security and Investigative Services regulate private investigator licensing in California.

California Department of Consumer Affairs  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law
Colorado
Colorado has no state licensing requirements for private investigators. The Professional Private Investigators Association of Colorado offers information on training and other resources for this profession.

Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies  |  Sate Law
Connecticut
Connecticut investigators must be licensed. Connecticut Public Act # 04-192 requires that any person or firm wishing to conduct business as a Private Detective Service in this state, must first obtain a professional license from the Commissioner of Public Safety. Guidelines for obtaining the license, eligibility criteria, and applicable license fees are detailed in the statute. Private Detective services are also required to register all employees working as investigators under their license.

Connecticut Dept. Public Safety - License Requirements  |  State Law
2 Delaware
Delaware investigators must be licensed. All persons who wish to work as a private investigator, security service contractor, security guard, armored car guard or be in business as an investigations company, guard company, armored car company, and courier company is required to apply for a license from the Detective Licensing Unit, Division of State Police.

Delaware Licensing Requirements  |  State Law
2 Florida
Florida investigators must be licensed. Private investigators are regulated and licensed through the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

Florida License Requirements  |  State Law
2 Georgia
Georgia investigators be licensed. The Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies regulate the private detective and security businesses. Private detective businesses and private security companies are required to have a company license issued by the Board. The private detective employee, must be registered as an employee with the private detective company.

Georgia Board of Private Detectives - Licensing Requirements  |  State Law
Hawaii
Hawaii investigators must obtain a license. The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs regulate the private investigators.

Licensing Area: Private Detective and Guard  |  Licensing Requirements - FAQ  | 
State Law
2 Idaho
NO STATE REQUIREMENT

The state of Idaho does not have a license requirement for private investigators.
Illinois
Illinois investigators must be licensed. The Illinois state government regulates detective licensing through the Division of Professional Regulation.

Illinois Division of Professional Regulation  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law
Indiana
Indiana investigators must be licensed. The Indiana state government regulates detective licensing through the Indiana Private Detective Licensing Board.

Indiana Private Detective Licensing Board   |  State Law
Iowa
Iowa investigators must be licensed. The Iowa Department of Public Safety regulates private Investigators.

Iowa Department of Public Safety  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law 
Kansas
Kansas investigators must be licensed. The Kansas Bureau of Investigation regulates private investigators.

Kansas Bureau of Investigation – Private Detective LicensingState Law
Kentucky
Kentucky investigators must be licensed and take an examination . The Kentucky Board of Licensure for Private Investigators regulates private investigators in Kentucky.

Kentucky Board of Licensure for Private InvestigatorsState Law 
Louisiana
Louisiana investigators must be licensed. The Louisiana State Board of Private Investigator Examiners regulates private investigators in Louisiana.

The Louisiana State Board Of Private Investigator Examiners  |  State Law
Maine
Maine investigators must be licensed. The Maine State Police, Department of Public safety regulate the licensing of private investigators, investigative assistants, and private security companies.

Department of Public Safety- PI Licensing  |  State Law
Maryland
Maryland investigators must be licensed. Private investigator licensing is regulated by the Maryland State Police.

Maryland State Police - Licensing Division  |  State Law
Massachusetts
Massachusetts investigators must be licensed. Private Investigators are regulated by the colonel of the Massachusetts State Police.

Massachusetts State Police  |  License Requirements 
Michigan
Michigan investigators must be licensed. Private Investigators in Michigan are regulated by The Department of Labor and Economic Growth under the new Professional Investigator Licensure Act.

Department of Labor and Economic Growth  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law
Minnesota
Minnesota investigators must be licensed. Private Investigators in Minnesota are regulated by The Board of Private Detective & Protective Agent Services.

Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services  |  State Law
Mississippi
NO STATE REQUIREMENT

There are currently no licensing requirements for Private Investigators in Mississippi.
 
Missouri
Missouri requiring the licensing of private investigators statewide effective January 30, 2010. The law now requires a written exam, with exclusion for those with current POST (Peace Officers Standards and Training) certification.

Board of Private Investigator Examiners
Montana
Montana investigators are required to be licensed. The Board of Private Security Patrol Officers and Investigators regulate investigators in Montana.

Montana Board of Private Security and Investigators  |  License Requirements
Nebraska
Nebraska investigators are required to be licensed. The Nebraska Secretary of State regulates licensing of private detectives.

Nebraska Secretary of State - License Requirements  |  State Law 
Nevada
Nevada investigators are required to be licensed. The Nevada Private Investigator Licensing Board regulates private detectives.

Nevada Private Investigator Licensing Board  |  State Law
New Hampshire
An investigator in New Hampshire is required to be licensed. The New Hampshire Department of Safety Division of Sate Police regulate private detectives.

Division of Sate Police – Licensing Unit  |  Sate Law

*On July 13, 2010 the New Hampshire Private Detective bill, HB 651, was signed into law and becomes effective January 1, 2011.  http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2010/HB0651.html
New Jersey
An investigator in New Jersey is required to be licensed. The New Jersey State Police regulate private detectives.

New Jersey State Police – Private Detective Unit   |  Sate Law
New Mexico
New Mexico investigators are required to be licensed. The New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department regulate private detectives.

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Division  |  State Law 
New York
New York investigators are required to be licensed and to take an examination. The New York Department of State Division of Licensing Services regulate private detective and administers the Private Investigator walk-in examination.

New York Department of State Division of Licensing Services  |  State Law
North Carolina
North Carolina investigators are required to be licensed. The North Carolina Department of Justice regulates private detectives.

North Carolina Department of Justice  |  State Law
North Dakota
North Dakota investigators are required to be licensed. The North Dakota Private Investigation and Security Board regulate private detectives.

North Dakota Private Investigation Board  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law 
Ohio
Ohio investigators are required to be licensed. The Ohio Department of Public Safety regulates private detectives.

Ohio Department of Public Safety - Private Investigator Section  |  State Law
Oklahoma
Oklahoma investigators are required to be licensed and applicants with no training must complete Oklahoma Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training CLEET approved and mandated training. CLEET regulate private detectives in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law 
Oregon
Oregon investigators are required to be licensed and take an examination through the    Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST). The DPSST regulate private detectives.

State of Oregon: DPSST Private Security  |  State law 
Pennsylvania
No state licensing - done on the county by county level.
Pennsylvania investigators are required to be licensed. To become licensed as a Pennsylvania investigator read the Private Detective Act of 1953. Then, petition the Court of Common Pleas in the county you reside or have your business.

Private Detective Act of 1953 
Rhode Island
Rhode Island investigators are required to be licensed. To apply for a private detective license in Rhode Island one must contact the local licensing authority where his/her principal place of business is located.

Requirements for License  |  State Law 
South Carolina

South Carolina investigators are required to be licensed. The South Carolina Law Enforcement Division of Regulatory Services regulates private detectives.

South Carolina Law Enforcement Division  |  State Law
South Dakota
NO STATE REQUIREMENT
There are no licensing requirements for private investigators in South Dakota, but a business license through Department of Revenue required.
 
State Revenue Offices
Tennessee
Tennessee investigators are required to be licensed. The Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance Private Protective Services Division regulates private detectives.

Private Protective Services Division  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law (Scroll to title 62 chapter 26) 
Texas
Texas investigators are required to be licensed. The Texas Commission on Private Security regulates private detectives.

Texas Department of Public Safety – Private Security Board  |  State Law
Utah
Utah investigator license is required. The Utah Department of Public Safety & Law Enforcement Services Bureau of Regulatory Licensing regulates private detectives.

Utah Department of Public Safety  |  State Law 
Vermont
Vermont investigators are required to be licensed. The Vermont Board of Private Investigative and Armed Security Services Office of Professional Regulation regulate private detectives.

Private Security Investigative & Security Services  |  State Law
Virginia
Virginia investigators are required to be licensed. The Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Private Security Section regulates private detectives.

VA DCJS – Private Security Services  |  State Law 
Washington
Washington State investigators are required to be licensed. The Washington Department of Licensing, Public Protection Unit regulates private detectives.

Washington State Department of Licensing  |  State Law 
West Virginia
West Virginia investigators are required to be licensed. West Virginia Secretary of State Licensing Division (Private Investigator Licensing) regulates private detectives.

West Virginia Secretary of State Licensing Division  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law
Wisconsin
Wisconsin investigators are required to be licensed. The Wisconsin Department of Regulation & Licensing regulates private detectives.

State of Wisconsin Department of Regulation & Licensing  |  Requirements for License  |  State Law 
Wyoming
NO STATE REQUIREMENT

An investigator in Wyoming is regulated by local jurisdictions.
 


 
Follow Us  

Join Us 
How to Investigate Blog   Join our Yahoo Group   Ask How to Investigate    

Course Includes | Instructors | Q & A | Sample | ReviewsEndorsements
Licensing | National Associations | State Associations
Contact | Company | Order  | Guarantee | Site Map


Secrets of Top Private Eyes 1993-2013 - Private Investigator Training Course
A Division of Investigative Professionals - On the Web Since 1996